A podcast that has fun taking romance novels seriously.
Shelf Love is a podcast and community that explores fictional stories of romantic love across media, time, and cultures. For the curious and open-minded who joyfully question as they consume pop culture.

Latest Episodes


Journalist E. Jean Carroll hopped a ride on the Love Train with dozens of romance authors in 1983, hoping to discover "how to catch a man." But did she actually discover who women* in America were fantasizing about being? Steve Ammidown, archivist and historian of the romance genre, joins me to discuss Where the Heart Roams, a 1987 documentary about romance authors, culture clashes, silk sheets and lavender sachets, men with a lot of flash (there aren't many), and many conflicting theories about how to catch a man.
What's love got to do with it? Tina Turner famously asked this question and while I think she meant it rhetorically, I think the answer is: quite a bit. Except it seems like we're still figuring out what romantic love is and questioning if it even exists in the first place. Here's what you can expect coming up in season 3 of Shelf Love.
Proving once and for all, using science, the truth of the romance reader stereotype. Warning: this research is about how romance novels and readers are perceived, not the actual reality.
Romance Author Jodie Slaughter joins Shelf Love Live from Copper Dog Books in Beverly, Massachusetts. Can Jodie identify excerpts from her own books? What's her favorite trope and why is it Only One Bed? We play games and share romance recommendations, answer live Q&A from the audience, are ogled by passing firefighters, question if capitalism is the real nemesis in classic rom-coms, and more. Recorded August 11, 2021 in a livestream. Watch the enhanced & edited video recording on YouTube!
all episodes

Latest Posts


Dame Jodie Slaughter Virtual & River Cruise Events!

Exclusive Jodie Slaughter (romance author, Shelf Love guest extraordinaire) events with Shelf Love and Copper Dog Books this August, 2021. Virtual & In Person (Essex, MA)!

Bridgerton Research: Gateways into Reading Romance

Is the Bridgerton Adaptation on Netflix a Gateway into Reading Romance? How does genre fluency change perceptions?

Romance Novels and The Secular Scripture by Northrop Frye

Romance Novels and The Secular Scripture by Northrop Frye: A collection of resources for using The Secular Scripture as a way to think about the structure of the popular romance genre.

Romancelandia Holiday Fairies 2020

A way for the Romancelandia community to support anyone in the community who could use help with purchasing gifts for themselves or loved ones this holiday season, 2020.

Reviews


  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Enjoyed it!
    I just started getting back into listening to podcasts and Shelf Love is definitely one I'm looking forward to hear some more of! The host is wonderful and does a great job! Worth every minute!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart sexy fun
    Shelf Love is both the most interesting and thoughtful podcast devoted to the romance genre and one of the best book podcasts out there bar none. Host Andrea Martucci is great --intellectually curious, enthusiastic and open--but she really excels at choosing her guests and letting them run with their area of expertise. Highly, highly recommend.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐A great listen
    I love reading romance but don't have many people to discuss these books with. The podcast does a great job of directly addressing how novels engage with the 'isms (racism etc) and discussing the characters and writing.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Amazing and insightful
    One of the most insightful romance review podcasts I've ever come across.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐One of my fave romance podcasts
    This is a great listen. I love the conversation that Andrea has with her guests about the books and how they reflect different parts of the genre AND how they relate to real life.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Engaging, thoughtful interviews
    I love how this podcast is thinking about romance - fantastic range of interviews and topics.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Worth Every Second!
    So smart and funny. I love the host. Can't wait to read all the upcoming books and contribute to the conversation.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Such a delight!
    These ladies have such a great rapport and clearly have a lot of love for each other, their subject matter and books in general. For fans of "Smart Podcast, Trashy Books" and "Heaving Bosoms" podcasts, and romance in general.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Another Romance Podcast? Yes!
    I didn't think I needed to add another romance podcast to the array of excellent ones I already subscribe to. Turns out I was wrong. Get it!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Fascinating dive into the unknown
    As a non-romance book reader I was skeptical at first, but found the podcast totally engrossing. Well researched, well recorded, well produced, and completely entertaining. The guests are smart, funny and bring different perspectives helping to keep the format fresh. Even as a person with little interest in Romance Literature this has earned a subscription.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Love for Shelf Love
    I'm an avid romance reader and somehow have not managed to listen to any romance related podcasts. Shelf love is my first and fast became my favorite. Andrea Martucci (the host) has funny, thought provoking and all around good discussions on a particular novel...I love that Andrea sources from the listeners too via insta, Twitter, and email. Give it a listen. Oh and you might find that you talk and laugh along with the podcast like I do.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart, funny, and sincere
    Andrea and her guests' love for romance novels is infectious. I don't read them, but now I want to! Whereas some people despair that they have to turn off their feminism when they turn on the TV, this podcast shows how the pleasures of genre fiction can harmonize with the pleasures (or should I say "turn ons") of criticism.