A podcast that has fun taking romance novels seriously.
Romance is a literary genre that deserves dignity and respect. Shelf Love is a podcast that lovingly digs deeper beneath the surface of the romance genre into the id, ego, and super ego of romance readers and writers.

Latest Episodes


Dr. Margarita Guillory, associate professor of religion at BU, shares her knowledge about the history of African diaspora conjuring practices, how they are and have been portrayed in popular culture, and how Black millennials and younger generations are practicing witchcraft digitally. Dr. Maria DeBlassie co-hosts. This conversation lays the groundwork for next episode, in which Maria and I build on what we learned from Margarita to discuss Black witches in contemporary romance.
Dr. Eric Selinger is back to discuss Glitterland by Alexis Hall and how it's basically a big old allegory for the romance genre. Eric and I speak authoritatively about books we've never read, and how Glitterland addresses mental health stigma. Visit Shelflovepodcast.com for show notes and transcript.
John Jacobson, freelance editor at Carina Press, joins me to trouble the binaries as we unpack a problematic favorite trope: women in pants in historical romance novels.
Romance scholar Eric Selinger explores different types questions that have been asked about popular romance (not enough), how romance research has come in waves (three, to be precise), and asks "how can I make this romance more interesting?" (you always can).
all episodes

Latest Posts


Scarily Ever After: Halloween Romance Novels

Oct 28, 2020

A curated list of spooky-ish romances that you might enjoy, all with happily ever afters. Even ghosts and witches deserve love.

Romance Nerd Reading List

Oct 28, 2020

Hello romance nerds! I'm going to keep a running list of romance research that I'm reading with high-level notes - hope you find it helpful.

Transcripts! Every Episode You Can Read

Oct 28, 2020

Although podcasting's primary form is in audio, I believe the information on Shelf Love should be available for all. Podcasts don't work for everyone, for lots of reasons, so my goal is to create transcripts for every episode. Here's which episodes have transcripts, and where you can find them.

Bookstore Romance Day 2020 Q&A with Copper Dog Books' Julie Karaganis

Oct 28, 2020

I'm proud to collaborate with my local independent bookstore, Copper Dog Books, for Bookstore Romance Day 2020. I virtually sat down with co-owner - and resident romance fan - Julie Karaganis to discuss why and how Copper Dog Books is welcoming romance readers.

Therapy for Everyone: Low-Cost Therapy Options and Alternatives

Oct 28, 2020

In episode 51, Hannah Hearts Romance - who is a mental health professional by day and romance reader by night - helped me unpack the trauma presented in The Rakess by Scarlett Peckham. Unfortunately therapy wasn't an option in the late 18th century, and although we have much better options today, it's not always affordable or accessible for everyone due to cost. Here are some resources Hannah suggest for low-cost therapy options and alternatives to traditional therapy.

Reviews


  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Enjoyed it!
    I just started getting back into listening to podcasts and Shelf Love is definitely one I'm looking forward to hear some more of! The host is wonderful and does a great job! Worth every minute!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart sexy fun
    Shelf Love is both the most interesting and thoughtful podcast devoted to the romance genre and one of the best book podcasts out there bar none. Host Andrea Martucci is great --intellectually curious, enthusiastic and open--but she really excels at choosing her guests and letting them run with their area of expertise. Highly, highly recommend.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐A great listen
    I love reading romance but don't have many people to discuss these books with. The podcast does a great job of directly addressing how novels engage with the 'isms (racism etc) and discussing the characters and writing.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Amazing and insightful
    One of the most insightful romance review podcasts I've ever come across.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐One of my fave romance podcasts
    This is a great listen. I love the conversation that Andrea has with her guests about the books and how they reflect different parts of the genre AND how they relate to real life.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Engaging, thoughtful interviews
    I love how this podcast is thinking about romance - fantastic range of interviews and topics.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Worth Every Second!
    So smart and funny. I love the host. Can't wait to read all the upcoming books and contribute to the conversation.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Such a delight!
    These ladies have such a great rapport and clearly have a lot of love for each other, their subject matter and books in general. For fans of "Smart Podcast, Trashy Books" and "Heaving Bosoms" podcasts, and romance in general.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Another Romance Podcast? Yes!
    I didn't think I needed to add another romance podcast to the array of excellent ones I already subscribe to. Turns out I was wrong. Get it!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Fascinating dive into the unknown
    As a non-romance book reader I was skeptical at first, but found the podcast totally engrossing. Well researched, well recorded, well produced, and completely entertaining. The guests are smart, funny and bring different perspectives helping to keep the format fresh. Even as a person with little interest in Romance Literature this has earned a subscription.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Love for Shelf Love
    I'm an avid romance reader and somehow have not managed to listen to any romance related podcasts. Shelf love is my first and fast became my favorite. Andrea Martucci (the host) has funny, thought provoking and all around good discussions on a particular novel...I love that Andrea sources from the listeners too via insta, Twitter, and email. Give it a listen. Oh and you might find that you talk and laugh along with the podcast like I do.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart, funny, and sincere
    Andrea and her guests' love for romance novels is infectious. I don't read them, but now I want to! Whereas some people despair that they have to turn off their feminism when they turn on the TV, this podcast shows how the pleasures of genre fiction can harmonize with the pleasures (or should I say "turn ons") of criticism.