A podcast that has fun taking romance novels seriously.
Romance is a literary genre that deserves dignity and respect. Shelf Love is a podcast that lovingly digs deeper beneath the surface of the romance genre into the id, ego, and super ego of romance readers and writers.

Latest Episodes


Katrina Jackson never actually left: we talk about Scandal, why impermanence and entropy are the root cause for readers' desire for a happily ever after - or at least according to my theory, and how Katrina's research on Black romance as liberation is coming along. We also discuss Blind Date with a Book Boyfriend by Lucy Eden, a true romcom novella that turns the one-day courtship trope on its head. 03:05 - What Kat’s been up to. Scandal. Contagion. Growing jalapenos. 14:21 - Kat’s Research: Black Romance as Liberation 41:53 - HEA, HFN, Andrea’s grand theory of romance 50:53 - The fantasy of resolution 59:16 - Blind Date With A Book Boyfriend
Friendship in romance with romance novel experts Ruby Lang, Mia Sosa, and Jessica Van Slooten. The many ways friendship is explored in romance: Intergenerational friendship, found family, introducing us to future love stories, and friendship relationship arcs. This is the final Decameron Quarantine Romance Book Club episode that was recorded back in March 2020, at the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic. Stay safe, stay mad, and keep reading romance.
Jess, my guest, is Shelf Love's first and most prolific listener contributor, and minted the term Shelf Lovelies, so she's basically a legend around here. We normally choose one book to discuss per episode, but we couldn't decide between Rose Lerner's novel Listen to the Moon and her novella All or Nothing, so we decided to do a double-header episode. Between these two historical romances, we explore topics ranging from feeling out a polyamorous marriage, adulting and boundaries, daddy issues, Jewishness, and the big question: does it violate the laws of escapist reading to read about servants in a time period where there is so much manual labor involved? There is so much dusting, and it's somehow still so good!
Bree, half of the romance writing duo Kit Rocha, is my guest! She shares her thoughts on why romance novels are all about power and if now is a good time to read dystopian fiction. We discuss A Conspiracy of Whispers by Ada Harper, a romance with intriguing world building, a discussion of gender roles told through genetically modified dispositions, and a wary heroine who learns how to use her broken pieces to stab her enemies.
all episodes

Latest Posts


15 Romance Novel Audiobooks that Combine Swoony Words with Great Performances

Jul 4, 2020

I asked listeners for their recommendations for romance audiobooks that combine an already fantastic romance with an amazing vocal performance that makes it extra enjoyable.

Reflections on What I've Been Listening To: When in Romance

Jul 4, 2020

I love podcasts, so is it any surprise that I listen to so many? While I love a good romance podcast, I also think it's important to look outside my own niche for inspiration, to learn new things, and for entertainment.

Shelf Love's Modern Romance Canon Reading List

Jul 4, 2020

Let’s make a modern romance canon! Starting towards the end of 2019, I started asking my guests what romance novel they’d nominate for the modern romance canon.

Shelf Love + Boobies & Noobies: Regifted

Jul 4, 2020

What happens when you smoosh Boobies & Noobies and Shelf Love together? A Christmas Miracle!

Shelf Love on Frolic: 3 Shocking Character Revelations from Pride and Prejudice

Jul 4, 2020

If you've ever wondered what's going on in Charlotte's private room...

Reviews


  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Worth Every Second!
    So smart and funny. I love the host. Can't wait to read all the upcoming books and contribute to the conversation.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Such a delight!
    These ladies have such a great rapport and clearly have a lot of love for each other, their subject matter and books in general. For fans of "Smart Podcast, Trashy Books" and "Heaving Bosoms" podcasts, and romance in general.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Another Romance Podcast? Yes!
    I didn't think I needed to add another romance podcast to the array of excellent ones I already subscribe to. Turns out I was wrong. Get it!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Fascinating dive into the unknown
    As a non-romance book reader I was skeptical at first, but found the podcast totally engrossing. Well researched, well recorded, well produced, and completely entertaining. The guests are smart, funny and bring different perspectives helping to keep the format fresh. Even as a person with little interest in Romance Literature this has earned a subscription.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Love for Shelf Love
    I'm an avid romance reader and somehow have not managed to listen to any romance related podcasts. Shelf love is my first and fast became my favorite. Andrea Martucci (the host) has funny, thought provoking and all around good discussions on a particular novel...I love that Andrea sources from the listeners too via insta, Twitter, and email. Give it a listen. Oh and you might find that you talk and laugh along with the podcast like I do.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart, funny, and sincere
    Andrea and her guests' love for romance novels is infectious. I don't read them, but now I want to! Whereas some people despair that they have to turn off their feminism when they turn on the TV, this podcast shows how the pleasures of genre fiction can harmonize with the pleasures (or should I say "turn ons") of criticism.