A podcast that has fun taking romance novels seriously.
Romance is a literary genre that deserves nuanced criticism. Shelf Love is a podcast that unpacks and contextualizes the popular romance genre within the broader critical discussion of identity, culture, and love.

Latest Episodes


I reflect on listener favorite episodes from 2020, share what I'll be speaking more of in 2021, and say thank you to the Holiday Fairies! (Originally recorded in January when 2021 was still fresh.)
Evil Prince Jack Harbon busts captive romance out of its cage: is captivity and kidnapping only found in dark romance, or are its themes more prevalent? We discuss why this trope is pleasurable and different manifestations in popular culture: Beauty and the Beast, Persephone Hades, the patriarchy, medical school, and alien abduction.
1 Bonkers Book; 3 Joyless Hags. If you could escape earth, would you happily hitch your wagon to a lizard-man's space ship? When we scratch the surface of alien abduction romance, what do we find, and does insta-love exist? All of these questions are answered in the first ever Joyless Hags Book Club. I'm joined by Tasha L. Harrison and Katrina Jackson to discuss Alien Mate Experiment by Zenobia Renquist.
Dr. Julie Moody-Freeman, host of Black Romance Podcast, uses a multi-modal cultural studies perspective to engage students in critical engagement with Black romance texts to "liberate learners from the mimicry of the powerful."
all episodes

Latest Posts


Bridgerton Research: Gateways into Reading Romance

Apr 14, 2021

Is the Bridgerton Adaptation on Netflix a Gateway into Reading Romance? How does genre fluency change perceptions?

Romance Novels and The Secular Scripture by Northrop Frye

Apr 14, 2021

Romance Novels and The Secular Scripture by Northrop Frye: A collection of resources for using The Secular Scripture as a way to think about the structure of the popular romance genre.

Romancelandia Holiday Fairies 2020

Apr 14, 2021

A way for the Romancelandia community to support anyone in the community who could use help with purchasing gifts for themselves or loved ones this holiday season, 2020.

Scarily Ever After: Halloween Romance Novels

Apr 14, 2021

A curated list of spooky-ish romances that you might enjoy, all with happily ever afters. Even ghosts and witches deserve love.

Romance Nerd Reading List

Apr 14, 2021

Hello romance nerds! I'm going to keep a running list of romance research that I'm reading with high-level notes - hope you find it helpful.

Reviews


  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Enjoyed it!
    I just started getting back into listening to podcasts and Shelf Love is definitely one I'm looking forward to hear some more of! The host is wonderful and does a great job! Worth every minute!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart sexy fun
    Shelf Love is both the most interesting and thoughtful podcast devoted to the romance genre and one of the best book podcasts out there bar none. Host Andrea Martucci is great --intellectually curious, enthusiastic and open--but she really excels at choosing her guests and letting them run with their area of expertise. Highly, highly recommend.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐A great listen
    I love reading romance but don't have many people to discuss these books with. The podcast does a great job of directly addressing how novels engage with the 'isms (racism etc) and discussing the characters and writing.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Amazing and insightful
    One of the most insightful romance review podcasts I've ever come across.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐One of my fave romance podcasts
    This is a great listen. I love the conversation that Andrea has with her guests about the books and how they reflect different parts of the genre AND how they relate to real life.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Engaging, thoughtful interviews
    I love how this podcast is thinking about romance - fantastic range of interviews and topics.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Worth Every Second!
    So smart and funny. I love the host. Can't wait to read all the upcoming books and contribute to the conversation.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Such a delight!
    These ladies have such a great rapport and clearly have a lot of love for each other, their subject matter and books in general. For fans of "Smart Podcast, Trashy Books" and "Heaving Bosoms" podcasts, and romance in general.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Another Romance Podcast? Yes!
    I didn't think I needed to add another romance podcast to the array of excellent ones I already subscribe to. Turns out I was wrong. Get it!
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Fascinating dive into the unknown
    As a non-romance book reader I was skeptical at first, but found the podcast totally engrossing. Well researched, well recorded, well produced, and completely entertaining. The guests are smart, funny and bring different perspectives helping to keep the format fresh. Even as a person with little interest in Romance Literature this has earned a subscription.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Love for Shelf Love
    I'm an avid romance reader and somehow have not managed to listen to any romance related podcasts. Shelf love is my first and fast became my favorite. Andrea Martucci (the host) has funny, thought provoking and all around good discussions on a particular novel...I love that Andrea sources from the listeners too via insta, Twitter, and email. Give it a listen. Oh and you might find that you talk and laugh along with the podcast like I do.
  • ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Smart, funny, and sincere
    Andrea and her guests' love for romance novels is infectious. I don't read them, but now I want to! Whereas some people despair that they have to turn off their feminism when they turn on the TV, this podcast shows how the pleasures of genre fiction can harmonize with the pleasures (or should I say "turn ons") of criticism.